Another Canadian!

New Joiners, plus new forum features, functions and questions!

Another Canadian!

Postby NW_Cdn » Mon May 21, 2018 13:56

Hello,
I've been making models off and on for 30 years, mostly for wargaming in the last 20 years. Just over a year ago I got a 3d printer and made a ridiculous number of 1/72 tanks, then switched to 1/72nd airplanes. I realized I'm quickly filling my house so I thought I'd give 1/144 a try. I made some 1/144 airplanes when I was a child but it's been a long time.

Attached is a photo of a 1/144 T-72BM from the 3d printer. The file is a free design from Marco Bergman who shares his designs on Thiniverse https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:769137

Regards,
Nick
Attachments
IMG_2185.JPG
NW_Cdn
Flight #2
Flight #2

Re: Another Canadian!

Postby F_IV » Mon May 21, 2018 23:34

Welcome aboard! I think there are many here who would be very interested to learn about your work. It’s a fascinating technology.
F_IV
JV 144 6 Star
JV 144 6 Star

Postby ajmm » Tue May 22, 2018 5:32

Welcome! That’s a smart looking T72. Very impressive. Would be keen to hear more about how you do it.
ajmm
JV 144 6 Star
JV 144 6 Star

Postby NW_Cdn » Thu May 24, 2018 1:11

I'll post a detailed make in the next week or two. I own a home 3d printer, a Wanhao duplicator i3 v2 (I think a v1 had an unfortunate tendency for spontaneous combustion). You can see one here at http://www.wanhao3dprinter.com/Unboxin/ShowArticle.asp?ArticleID=70. It's more than a year old so it's pretty out of date. It's an FDM printer (melted plastic) so the detail is ok but it'll leave little lines - I print each layer at 0.1mm. Fancy new resin printers are a lot better. With tanks the striations aren't obvious but they can be pretty visible on the curves of an airplane or a figure.