Information: Please take a moment and visit your profile to choose a flag.

Hello from Oklahoma

New Joiners, plus new forum features, functions and questions!
riverman
Rookie
Rookie
1/144 Interest: No
United States of America

Hello from Oklahoma

Post by riverman »

Hello from Oklahoma

Greetings everybody,
My name is Russell (Russ) Dutnell, and although I have heard about Kampgruppe144 for some time now, I just joined and am now a new member.
My first foray in small scale modeling was in 2013 when I made a 1/350 scale diorama of the planes my dad flew during his 20 year career in the USAF. I had been using AutoCAD (and AutoCAD Civil3D) for many years, both for work and play, so I designed the planes in AutoCAD C3D, and had them printed at Click2Detail (C2D). I then painted them, added decals that I made, slapped some clear spinning props to them and mounted them on rods that I put in a base that I also designed and made. Dad really liked it.
DadsPlanes.png
I posted the process I used on SSM (I believe it was) and people stated asking if I could make this model or that, and so I did. I made a lot of them until C2D went out of business. Shapeways was a royal pain, and between that and my life getting busy, I stopped doing any modeling, and the models I had made were no longer available. A few years later, I don’t recall exactly when, pressure from a couple of people who wanted my models, I put a bunch of them on Shapeways. I won’t go into all of it, but the angst they caused me was ridiculous, and then I was told about the Anycubic Photon printer.