Information: Please take a moment and visit your profile to choose a flag.

Paint still not dry

Need some advice, got a good weathering tip, discovered some great paints or tools?
RPadavan2
Flight 10
Flight 10
1/144 Interest: No

Paint still not dry

Post by RPadavan2 »

I'm working on my Airwolf Bell 222 helicopters from Shapeways. I tried to apply the black paint for the top but the white was coming off on my fingers from the handling. I painted the white bottoms a couple days ago and it is still tacky. The primer coat was completely dry, and had been for a week or two before I started painting the white. The models have been sitting in my living room, at room temperature. The paint color is Testor's Insignia White. Any suggestions as to how I can get the paint to dry? Or should I strip it down and redo it?

spejic
Flight #288
Flight #288
United States of America

Re: Paint still not dry

Post by spejic »

I think you have to strip it down - if it hasn't dried yet it isn't going to, at least not in a good way. Try using a lacquer-based primer (like Tamiya spray primers) or switch to acrylics to paint the colors.
1/144 decal templates for home printing: https://sites.google.com/site/planetspe ... -templates

ajmm
JV 144 6 Star
JV 144 6 Star
Nambia

Post by ajmm »

Funny - I haven't had that with my Testors whites and actually I find them much more reliable than any other enamel or acrylic alternative. Very odd. As Spejic suggests, my own course would be to strip it down and try with something else. It's very irritating when that sort of thing happens.

Jonathan
JV 144 6 Star
JV 144 6 Star

Post by Jonathan »

i have had this problem with Model Master spray enamels. even a week left in the hot car in the summer didnt cure it.
Cant be sure its the same stuff, but Model Master is a Testors product. It has a "low toxicity" solvent that wont kill brain cells as fast as the stuff in Tamiya, but also may never finish evaporating.